

Appointment and Compensation

Appointment

The Chair is chosen based on merit. Their initial term lasts three to five years. Later terms can last up to five years.

Vice Chairs and members are responsible for fairly and efficiently deciding appeals assigned to them by the Chair. The Vice Chair(s) may fulfill some duties of the Chair, at the request of the Chair or where the Chair cannot complete their duties.

Cabinet appoints members and Vice Chairs to initial terms of two to four years, and may appoint them to terms lasting up to five years. These appointments are made after consultation with the Chair.

The board is supported by the Environmental Appeal Board Staff and Chair also provides leadership for eight review/appeal bodies. They are responsible for administrative, human resources, and information technology/management for this group of review/appeal bodies.

Compensation

Pay for members, including the Chair, is set by the Cabinet orders that appoint them. The rates are specified in British Columbia's <u>*Treasury Board Directive 1/24</u>*, based on how it classifies the Board. The Board is in the third out of five categories.</u>

Compensation of members for the 2023/2024 fiscal year are as follows:

Part time Appointees					
Chair	Compensation				
David Hobbs	\$84,060				

Member	Compensation	Member	Compensation
Michael Alexandor	\$875	Lorna-Jeanne Harvey	\$13,407
Shannon Bentley	\$31,320	Jennifer Khor	\$13,744
David Blair	\$39,934	Amanda McReynolds	\$18,686
Dena Bryan	\$49,643	David Newell	\$8,033
Jonathan Chaplan	\$5,256	John O'Fee K.C.	\$4,090
Marilyn Clark	\$24,290	John Orr K.C.	\$55,045
Douglas Cochran	\$46,943	Ben Parkin	\$4,562
Gregory Cran	\$45,013	Kim Polowek	\$7,386
Charotte Ensminger	\$14,607	Helen Roberts	\$19,888
Denese Espeut-Post	\$26,680	Katherine Wellburn	\$50,908
Celia Francis	\$7,393		
Total Remuneration (Pa	\$517,763		